Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

NCCC scholarship recipients announced

by Marwa
Thu, Jun 23rd 2011 01:30 pm

Five 2011 Distinguished Student Scholarship recipients have been selected to receive the most prestigious scholarship offered by the Niagara County Community College Foundation.

The 2011 Distinguished Student Scholarship Recipients are Chelsea Callari, culinary arts (North Tonawanda High School); Jeffrey DiMayo, computer-aided drafting design (Royalton-Hartland High School); Christina DeVantier, baking and pastry arts (Starpoint High School); Jessica Scherrer, humanities and social science (Niagara-Wheatfield Senior High School); and Holly Zuch, humanities and social science (Starpoint High School).

The five recipients were introduced to the NCCC Foundation board of directors at the June board meeting and will be honored at the NCCC Foundation's annual Scholarship Gala on Oct. 15,. In the past year, nearly $200,000 in scholarships, through the NCCC Foundation, has been awarded to deserving students. The annual Scholarship Gala is the single largest fundraiser supporting student scholarships.

The Distinguished Student Scholarship award is the most prestigious scholarship offered by the NCCC Foundation to an incoming freshman and provides two years of tuition free education. The students were selected based on their academic excellence, service to the community, ability to define goals and execute them with a strong follow up.

Hometown News

View All News