Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ceretto blasts majority for regional discrimination

by jmaloni
Tue, Jun 14th 2011 11:15 am

Assemblyman John Ceretto, R-I-Lewiston, blasted the Assembly Majority on Monday for denying an up or down vote by the entire Assembly on legislation that would return state lands currently receiving property tax exemptions back to Niagara County's tax rolls. The bill, which was delivered a setback in the Rules Committee, which is controlled by New York City Assembly members, was rejected along party lines.

However, Ceretto noted that there are several examples across New York where state-owned land is subject to real-property taxation. These include state parklands in Rockland, Sullivan, Orange and Ulster counties that are subject to local property taxes, as well as land in the towns of Monroe, Warwick, Cornwall, Highland, Tuxedo, Woodbury, Rochester, Shawangunk and Wawarsing.  

"This is a typical case of New York City regional discrimination in Albany. The Assembly Majority continues to ignore Western New York taxpayers. Until they realize we rise and fall as one state, all New Yorkers will continue to suffer," Ceretto said.

"This bill is not dead. I will work with my Western New York colleagues on both sides of the aisle next year to revive and pass this legislation that provides much-needed relief to overburdened taxpayers and needed funding to our local municipalities," he added.

comments powered by Disqus

Hometown News