Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Youngstown Free Library holds 62nd annual association meeting

by jmaloni
Sat, Jan 29th 2011 01:00 pm

The Youngstown Free Library recently held its 62nd annual association meeting, followed by its first regular trustee meeting of 2011 at the Red Brick Schoolhouse. The library is supported by the Town of Porter, the Village of Youngstown, the Friends of Youngstown Free Library, Niagara County and the Youngstown and Porter communities.

President Joan Spira said 2010 had been a good year, during which many successful projects had been achieved. Probably most immediately evident to the visiting patron is the purchase of new furniture in the reading room.

Two new trustees were welcomed to the board for 2011: Carol Wilson of Foxpoint Circle and Jan Boccanera of Youngstown-Wilson Road. Joe Cecconi of Lynbrook Drive was also re-elected to a new three-year term.

Officers for 2011 are: president, Spira; vice president, Audrey Tower; recording secretary, MaryGrace Luff-Foote; treasurer, Joe Cecconi; and corresponding secretary, Marie Braun.

Standing Committee members for 2011 are: nominating chairwomen, Tower and Braun; finance, chairs, Cecconi and Wilson; personnel, chairs, Paul Inskeep and Tower; community relations, chairwomen, Susan Driscoll, Melody Chabue and Luff-Foote; scholarship, chairwomen, Sue Wahl and Boccanera. On the adhoc committees: historical, Phyllis Hastings; Friends of the Library, Inskeep; and special projects and future planning, Wilson.

Library Director Jan Gilgore reported that the library was open 1,662 hours in 2010, during which time staff welcomed approximately 11,200 patrons. Volunteers worked approximately 546 hours at the circulation desk, shelving books, filing, cleaning, weeding, setting up art displays and heading story hours. At minimum wage rates, this volunteer work saves the library more than $4,000.

The Youngstown Free Library is open Monday to Thursday, from 1:30 to 8:30 p.m., and Friday and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

comments powered by Disqus