Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Limited races locally on Primary Day

by jmaloni
Sat, Sep 11th 2010 10:00 am

Tuesday, Sept. 14, is Primary Day throughout New York state, including Niagara County, despite northern Niagara residents having limited local races of contention.

Statewide, the biggest race involves the governor's office on the Republican and Conservative lines. On the GOP line it sees downstater Rick Lazio versus Buffalo developer Carl Paladino. On the Conservative, it's Lazio versus Ralph C. Loringo.

For lieutenant governor, Republican line, it pairs Lazio running mate Gregory J. Edwards against Paladino mate Thomas V. Ognibene.

For the office of Attorney General, candidates include Democrat Richard L. Brodsky, Eric T. Schneiderman, Sean Coffey, Eric R. Dinallo and Kathleen M. Rice.

For U.S. Senator, six-year term, it includes Republican Gary Berntsen and R. Jay Townsend. While for U.S. Senator to fill the two-year unexpired term, it includes Democrats Kirsten E. Gillibrand, Gail Goode and Joseph J. DioGuardi, and Republicans David Malpass and Bruce Blakeman.

One race of interest locally involves state Assembly in the 138th District. Candidates on the primary ballot include on the Democratic line, Democrat Francine DelMonte and John G. Accardo; on the Independent line Michael P. Barone and John D. Ceretto; and DelMonte as Opportunity to Ballot on the Working Families line.

Candidates listed as judicial delegates in the 138th Assembly District include Independence line Pauline A. Wojtaszek-Evans, Elizabeth A. Ceretto, Evan E. Elgin and Reginna Collins.

Candidates for 138th Assembly District Judicial Alternate include Independence line Molly M. White, Marilyn Panosian and Michael P. Barone.

On the 138th State Committee Female, candidates include Elizabeth A. Ceretto on the Independent line and Reginna Collins. On the 138th State Committee Male, candidates include John D. Ceretto II on the Independent line and Evan E. Elgin.

In Lewiston, for Superintendent of Highway, there's an Opportunity to Ballot on the Working Families line.

In District 13 for the Town of Lewiston Republican Committee, candidates are Jordan M. Van Dusen, Mary Price and Jerald I. Wolfgang.

In the Town of Porter, for the Republican County Committee, District 1, candidates include Nicolas K. Smith, Jason C. Smith, Frederick A. Stephens and Margaret A. Hanson.

Polling hours are from noon to 9 p.m. Tuesday. 

Hometown News

View All News