Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

The Town of Niagara (File photo)
The Town of Niagara (File photo)

Town of Niagara plans ahead for 2022

Fri, Jan 14th 2022 11:00 am

By Terry Duffy


The Town of Niagara opened 2022 with its organizational session earlier this month. There, a number of procedural matters, including meeting schedules, town designations, members and personnel appointments, were approved for the year ahead.

These include:

•Town Board work sessions are at 6:30 p.m. on the first Wednesday of each month, with a second work session on the second Wednesday as needed. Official Town Board meetings will take place at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, following the second Wednesday of each month, and will be changed as needed. All meetings will take place at Town Hall on Lockport Road.

•Meeting schedules for the town’s various boards include: Planning, first Tuesday of the month; Zoning, second Tuesday of the month; Environmental Commission, fourth Tuesday of the month; and the Citizen’s Advisory Board, third Tuesday of the month.

•Town Hall operating hours: from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays.

•The board designated the Niagara County Tribune/Sentinel and the Niagara Gazette as its official town newspapers. KeyBank and M&T Bank were named as official town depositories.

•Department liaison appointments of Town Board members include: Supervisor Lee Wallace – building inspector, Highway and Parks/Recreation; Councilman Mark M. Carpenter, police; Councilman Samuel S. Gatto, courts; Councilman Richard A. Sirianni, fire; and Councilman Charles F. Teixeira, water/sewer.

•Supervisor appointments include: Texeira, deputy supervisor; Patricia Wallace, confidential secretary; Wallace, budget officer; Pete Aimes, town historian; and Jacqueline Siegmann, NYPA audit clerk.

•Town personnel appointments include: Robert Herman, administrative duties of drainage/sanitation; Sylvia Virtuoso, administrative duties of tax collector; Melissa Cerrillo, deputy tax collector; and Lisa Restaino and Grace Destino, justice clerks.

Also, Rober Herman, director of Parks; Robert Evrard, deputy highway superintendent; Charles Haseley, planning/zoning officer/stormwater management; Brian Bieter, water/sewer superintendent; Amanda Haseley, recreation director; Carpenter, police commissioner; Virtuoso, registrar of vital statistics; and town auditors, to be determined.

•Other town appointments include: consulting municipal law firm (in house) – Hodgson Ross and Barclay Damon; prosecuting attorneys – Jason Caffarella and Craig Touma; consulting engineering firm (in house) – GHD Consulting Inc.; dog control – Niagara County SPCA; and town insurance carrier – Keller Insurance.

•Members of the Town of Niagara Police Department include part-time officers Michael Rozyczko, James Bissell, Pat Williams, Salvatore Paonessa, Patrick Dworak, Michael Lee, Benjamin Shirbaxk, Michael Haybes, Walter Nichols, Travis Maggard, Joseph Dobmeir, Vanik Aloian, Scott Milleville, Chris Soluri, Dominic Senese, Daniel Jones, Alex Wagner and Anthony Haag.

For more information on Town of Niagara organizational matters, visit www.townofniagara.com.  

Hometown News

View All News