Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Metro Creative Connection
Metro Creative Connection

5 states added to travel advisory, 10 million COVID-19 diagnostic tests conducted


Tue, Sep 22nd 2020 04:30 pm

Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island & Wyoming meet metrics to qualify; no areas are removed

Gov. Andrew Cuomo on Tuesday announced five states – Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island, and Wyoming – have been added to New York State's COVID-19 travel advisory. No areas have been removed.

The advisory requires individuals who have traveled to New York from areas with significant community spread to quarantine for 14 days. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The governor also announced New York has now conducted 10 million COVID-19 diagnostic tests. The number of new cases, percentage of tests that were positive and other helpful data points are available at forward.ny.gov.

"For a clear example of the continuing extent of the COVID crisis in America, look no further than New York's travel advisory list. The virus' spread across the country – new cases have increased more than 15% in the last 10 days – makes it all the more urgent that we stay vigilant here at home," Cuomo said. "That's why New Yorkers need to continue wearing masks, socially distancing and washing their hands in conjunction with the careful enforcement of local governments. We can defeat this virus by staying ‘New York Tough,’ but we have a long way to go."

The full, updated travel advisory list is below:

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arkansas
  4. Arizona
  5. Delaware
  6. Florida
  7. Georgia
  8. Guam
  9. Idaho
  10. Illinois
  11. Indiana
  12. Iowa
  13. Kansas
  14. Kentucky
  15. Louisiana
  16. Minnesota
  17. Missouri
  18. Mississippi
  19. Montana
  20. North Carolina
  21. North Dakota
  22. Nebraska
  23. Nevada
  24. Oklahoma
  25. Puerto Rico
  26. Rhode Island
  27. South Carolina
  28. South Dakota
  29. Tennessee
  30. Texas
  31. Utah
  32. Virginia
  33. Wisconsin
  34. West Virginia
  35. Wyoming

Hometown News

View All News