Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

State Parks: 2016-17 winter waterfowl drawing dates set

Submitted

Mon, Dec 12th 2016 01:25 pm

The Niagara Region of the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation has announced the lottery drawing dates for the remaining waterfowl season. The season runs from Dec. 31 through Jan. 15, 2017 and includes duck and goose.

Details are as follows:

Beaver Island State Park

Drawing will take place in the basement of the Beaver Island clubhouse. The doors will open at 6 p.m. and the draws start at 6:30 p.m. Enter through the back door closest to parking lot next to the clubhouse. 

DRAW DATES//HUNTING DATES

  • Friday, Dec. 30//Saturday, Dec. 31, through Monday, Jan. 2
  • Monday, Jan. 2//Tuesday and Wednesday, Jan. 3-4
  • Wednesday, Jan. 4//Thursday and Friday, Jan. 5-6
  • Friday, Jan. 6//Saturday through Monday, Jan. 7-9
  • Monday, Jan. 9//Tuesday and Wednesday, Jan. 10-11
  • Wednesday, Jan. 11//Thursday and Friday, Jan. 12-13
  • Friday, Jan. 13//Saturday and Sunday, Jan. 14-15

Additionally, blinds for the extended goose season, which runs from March 4-10, will be filled by call-in only. Call 716-773-2010 from 9 a.m. to noon on the following dates:

CALL-IN DATES//HUNTING DATES

  • Thursday, March 2//Saturday through Tuesday, March 4-7
  • Tuesday March 7//Wednesday through Friday, March 8-10

A boat is required to be on site, "at the ready'" for use in retrieving or rescue, as necessary. To participate in the lottery drawings, hunters must present a valid New York state small game hunting license, with a signed duck stamp, proof of registration in the harvest information program, and proof of completion of a waterfowl ID course.

Call the Beaver Island State Park office at 716-773-3271 on between 8 a.m. and 4:15 p.m. weekdays for more information.

For Fort Niagara, Joseph Davis, Wilson-Tuscarora & Golden Hill state parks

For the parks listed above, drawings will be held on Jan. 5 and 12 at the Fort Niagara State Park maintenance building, with doors opening at 6 p.m. and the drawing at 6:30 p.m.

To be eligible to participate in the lottery drawing, hunters must have a current New York state small game license, a federal migratory bird stamp and a harvest information program number, and have successfully completed the New York state waterfowl identification course. A dog or boat for retrievals is also required.

For additional information on these parks drawings, call 716-745-7273.

comments powered by Disqus