Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Ann Marie Linnabery's History Center program revisits existing Niagara County homes from 1878 guide, past residents

by jmaloni

Submitted

Fri, Jan 2nd 2015 01:25 pm
The John W. Labar home, constructed in 1861, still stands on Chestnut Ridge Road in the Town of Lockport.
The John W. Labar home, constructed in 1861, still stands on Chestnut Ridge Road in the Town of Lockport.

Ann Marie Linnabery, assistant director of the Niagara History Center, will revisit the homes and residents described in "The 1878 History of Niagara County" in her program "Home Sweet Home" at 2 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 22, in the Niagara History Center, 215 Niagara St., Lockport.

She will explore this treasure-trove of historical information, offering a snapshot of life in the last quarter of the 19th century. Interspersed among town histories are sketched images of many prominent Niagara County residents and the homes they occupied at the time.

Using these images, as well as 19th century maps and directories, Linnabery has crisscrossed the county, tracking them down to learn which ones still exist. Surprisingly, many of these historic homes are still standing and in remarkably good condition.

The program will focus on houses still extant in the towns of Niagara County. Linnabery will give a brief history of each home's residents.

A future program will highlight houses in the cities of Lockport, Niagara Falls and North Tonawanda.

Donations will be accepted for this History Center event. For more information, call 716-434-7433.

comments powered by Disqus