Featured News - Current News - Archived News - News Categories

Magic group 'The Illusionists' to perform during 'America's Got Talent' live results show

by jmaloni

Submitted

Sat, Aug 16th 2014 02:00 pm

Twelve more acts to perform in the last quarterfinal round for a chance to win the $1 million prize

The last quarterfinal round of "America's Got Talent" before the semifinals begin is set to feature a performance by three magicians from the critically acclaimed "The Illusionists: Witness The Impossible." Kevin James, Dan Sperry and Adam Trent will entertain America with a showcase of illusion during the live results show Wednesday (9 p.m.) from Radio City Music Hall.

"The Illusionists" have traveled all over the globe performing acts of levitation, mind-reading, illusion and disappearance, but this November they will come to Broadway at the Marquis Theater. James, "The Inventor," is a magician who creates illusions that have been performed by the likes of David Copperfield and Penn & Teller. Sperry, known as "The Anti-Conjuror," fuses his showmanship with an innate ability to perform feats that leave audiences speechless.

Both magicians have previously competed on "AGT" (James during the show's second season in 2007, and Sperry during its fifth season in 2010). Teaming with them this time will be Trent, best known as "The Futurist," who balances classic technique, comedy and technology to captivate an entirely new generation of magic fans. His smooth style has best been described as "Justin Timberlake meets David Copperfield." Tickets for the show are now available by visiting the show's official website TheIllusionistsLive.com.

 "America's Got Talent" wraps up the quarterfinal rounds on Tuesday (9 p.m.), when the last 12 of the top 48 acts will perform live for America's vote.

This week, America chose AcroArmy, Blue Journey, Christian Stoinev, Paul Ieti and Sons of Serendip to move on to compete against Aerial Animation, Andrey Moraru, Baila Conmigo, Dan Naturman, David and Leeman, Emily West, Jaycob Curlee, Mara Justine, Mat Franco and Miguel Dakota in the semifinals.

The 12 contestants performing on Tuesday are:

•Bad Boys of Ballet http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/bad-boys-of-ballet

•Dom the Bom's Triple Threat http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/dom-the-boms-triple-threat

•Emil & Dariel http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/emil-dariel

•Extreme http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/extreme

•Jonah Smith http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/jonah-smith

•Jonatan Riquelme http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/jonatan-riquelme

•Kelli Glover http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/kelli-glover

•Mothmen Dance http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/mothmen-dance

•One Voice Children's Choir http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/one-voice-childrens-choir

•Nina Burri http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/nina-burri

•Quintavious Johnson http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/quintavious-johnson

•Smoothini http://www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9/smoothini

More information, including bios and social media contacts for each act, can be found at www.nbc.com/americas-got-talent/cast/season-9. "AGT" fans can visit the official show site at: http://www.nbc.com/agt.

comments powered by Disqus